Posted in Crochet

Chains, Wips and Hooks!

No, its nothing kinky!! The terminology used among crocheter’s can be hilarious to a novice or someone unfamiliar with crocheting but they are quite easily explained and not as cheeky as they sound. Over the last few years I have joined a few Facebook groups for support, idea’s and the camaraderie that comes from sharing our common interest in crocheting. In fact while pregnant on my second son I found myself trying to remember the basic steps to start a Granny Square Blanket.

I’m sure it was late some evening as I would normally just pick up the phone and ask my mom to (patiently) go through it with me (again). So who do you go to when mom is not available?? Google of course! And so I happily discovered the Bella Coco YouTube channel. Beautifully created tutorials by Sarah-Jane, easily understood and followed, the perfect introduction (or re-introduction in my case) to crochet.

Once I was back into the swing of things, I eagerly sought out like-minded individuals who shared my love of hooking! Now, now, don’t let your mind go to the gutter. I will give you a quick breakdown of crochet terminology.

  • In crochet we use hooks as opposed to needles for knitting. So someone who crochet’s can be called a hooker.
  • A chain is loop that is created by a hook and yarn. Chains are usually created at the start of  a project.
  • A WIP stands for Work In Progress
  • Frogging: this is when you have to rip out a crocheted piece (rip it, rip it)
  • HOTH – Hot Off The Hook, a newly finished project.

Here ends my brief introduction to crochet, I hope it didnt bore you too much! I know it may not be to everyones tastes but I love it and I know many others love it too!

Until next time,

Sue 🌸

 

 

Leave a comment